hendelar

sometimes you just gotta' row

next heartbeat, the goldfish is…

leave a comment »

You’re so vain,
you probably think this song
is about you.

Carly Simon
You’re So Vain
No Secrets

“I’m fortunate to be surrounded by people who love me”, she said.

Yes, nothing is more ego-gratifying than the idea of being loved and, with rare exceptions, love is a self-funding proposition – you love me and I enjoy it so much, I love you for it, and because you enjoy being loved, you love me…

It’s fun until someone loses their I.

“Wait, you didn’t say you were going to dye your hair fuchsia, collect shrunken heads, pick your nose in public…what will everyone think, about me?”

“I didn’t realize your love was conditional upon how other people react to the color of my hair. I thought you loved me for me!”

Well no, he loved you for him.

“I’m not sure I can love anyone who doesn’t love me for me.”

Ditto.

“Well, if you don’t love me the way I am, why should I love you, with your pink hair?”

Surrounded: A state of siege restricting discretionary movement.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

…floating belly-up.

Written by glh

April 14, 2011 at 17:41

Posted in noticing, Relationships

Leave a Reply

